If you have been involved in a workers’ compensation case in New York State, you may be involved in a hearing. After your hearing, it is only human nature to wonder when you will be getting paid any compensation you are owed. In addition, you may also receive further compensation for receiving your benefits late.
The Workers’ Compensation law in New York State says that you should receive your payment within 10 days from the filing date. The filing date should be found on the lower right-hand corner of the first page of the decision.
If there have been any prior payments of compensation made, they will not be considered in this payment. In addition, if it is stated in the decision, the employer will be reimbursed less for any wages you have received.
Are there penalties for late payments?
In the event that the payment is not sent within 10 calendar days from the date in which the decision was filed (located in the lower right-hand corner of the decision), there will be a penalty of 20 percent of whatever the amount of the payment is.
It is important in any legal matter to be sure you are aware of all dates and deadlines. This is a clear example of how they can backfire if deadlines are not made. If you have questions about filing a workers’ compensation case in New York City, contact an experienced attorney today who can provide you with assistance.
The Law Offices of George Poulos is an experienced Workers’ Compensation, personal injury, bankruptcy, and Social Security Disability law firm with offices in Queens and the Bronx. If you require strong legal representation, contact our firm today to schedule a free consultation.